The little things

This time around on my weight loss journey, I have decided not to rush it. Not to force it. I want to make sure that I’m doing it right, and creating lasting habits that will keep me and my future family healthy for a long time.

Part of this decision included a promise to myself not to be taken hostage by the number on the scale. During past attempts at dieting I have tethered myself to that number, and only focused on that one thing. I starved myself in the name of counting calories, or carbs, or fat. I have bored myself to tears eating the same lifeless bowl of lettuce day in and day out, and made myself gag gulping down the requisite water. I have pulled muscles, overextended appendages and taken the wind out of me forcing a frantic workout after overeating.

The biggest disservice I have done to myself was making myself miserable in the name of happiness. This time, it’s about so much more than just the weight. The number on the scale is not the priority. The quality of life, the happiness I feel within myself and share with those around me. I’m not starving. I’m eating more than ever before, in smart, well-balanced, healthful way. I’m making time for my hobbies again, using social media to connect and network with others like me, experimenting and cooking with new recipes using delicious, fresh ingredients. I’m waking up earlier, making the most of each day.

And the best part? Little things are starting to happen all around me. My relationships are stronger than ever; with Alex, my family, my friends, myself. Taking time for me and doing those things is helping me stay focused to meet my goal. And another little thing? Something better than any combination of numbers on the slave of a scale?

Today I was able to wear jeans for casual Friday. Jeans that I have not been able to button or wear comfortably in over 2 months.

Will I ever weigh myself again? Of course. As my overall weigh goal is based on medical standards and necessity, I think it is equally as important to monitor and track my progress in a statistical way to succeed and ensure that my journey is completed in a healthy way.

The point is, this time around I don’t need a number to tell me I’m on the right path. It’s the little things that assure me every day.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Another dose of inspiration « firstdayoftherestofdays

Leave a comment