Sometimes you need a little kick

And sometimes, whatever higher power you believe just goes right ahead and kicks you.

In just the right way.

Today was a rough day.

I’m an executive search consultant (recruiter/head hunter) by day, and I LOVE my job. Last year I was miserable, working a job with god-awful hours, absolutely depressed all of the time, and really just going through the motions. My job situation was so depressing that it spilled over into every facet of my life- my relationship, my family, my friends, myself, just all of it. I just never felt happy. Sure, there were laughs, there were smiles, but it was all fleeting, and happenstance- not the result of that true, gut-wrenching, butterfly-wielding happiness.

When I reference the big risk I took last year with my career, this is what I am talking about. I interviewed for several positions while at my previous job, all in the field of recruiting. I didn’t really make the connection at the time, but in retrospect, I guess I knew what I was supposed to be doing.

I had two really promising interviews, where I progressed all the way to a second, and even third interview. Great feedback, great promise. And although this was not my first rodeo with the ever elusive and tricky hiring manager, it didn’t hurt any less when, ultimately, I was told no. All of these positions would have been lateral moves at worst, some of them even fairly progressive moves in the finance department. I just could not take the risk of losing money moving into a new position, especially because through much of this time Alex was still unemployed.

Meanwhile, things at my current job continued to escalate. Government regulations rolled out, completely altering the industry. Room for growth disappeared. Metrics became more stringent. The atmosphere grew thick with deception, animosity, violence. The breaking point for me was an act of extreme violence from one co-worker to another that went unpunished from the leadership.

I finally reached the breaking point. I had continued researching the recruiting industry, and I knew that while most executive search firms that I would be facing a significant pay cut. It just so happens that a former colleague from my horrible job had just made this very transition. It just so happens that she had told her boss about me, and told him that when I was ready, he needed to give me a chance. I finally made the jump, and despite a pay cut of over 50%, I have never looked back and never been happier.

Sometimes though, despite the overall happier life I’m leading, there are tough days, too. Today was one of those days. The hardest part of recruiting is that now, on a daily basis, I have to deal with the devil himself, in the form of hiring managers. Some days, this can be harder than others. And sometimes, when you need a kick, or a nod of approval to confirm it’s all going to be worth it, you get just what you need.

Applicable to both my job, and my current journey to get healthy, I stumbled across the perfect bit of inspiration today, in the form of a quote by the timeless Ella Fitzgerald:

“Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do.  Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.”

That’s what this is all about. Taking my life back, doing what I really want to do. Living my life instead of just sitting back and watching it pass me by. Getting healthy so that life can be as long and fulfilling as possible. As long as I don’t give up trying, I know that I can’t fail.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rainbow painter
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 02:26:51

    “Living my life instead of just sitting back and watching it pass me by. ” — When you said it, I think you started living a life that you want. Keep your thoughts especially the last line in this post. It’s very inspirational. 😉

    Reply

    • ashlee2012
      Jan 13, 2012 @ 23:20:05

      Thank you! It’s not always easy, but it helps to know that even if one day doesn’t go as planned, I can try again tomorrow! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

