New things to try and play with!

After work yesterday, Alex and I went a little out of our way to visit one of my favorite places, the Super H Mart. This is an Asian food megastore located right next door to the ITT Tech I used to work at.

The produce section alone is out of this world, but I love looking at everything. There are so many foods I never knew existed, so many flavors I’ve never even heard of. It can be alienating at first, especially since I can’t tell what I’m looking at half the time (most of the packaging just has characters, English, if there is any, is usually tiny and only on the back) but it is still a ton of fun.

Yesterday I got some new fresh produce to try including shitake mushrooms (I’ve eaten these, but never prepared them at home,) and Kubocha squash. In more familiar territory I also got some Romaine lettuce because it was only $0.99 per head, and some fresh Rosemary for the recipe I’m trying to replicate this evening (Braised white beans with Rosemary from Zoe’s Kitchen.)

After perusing around the rest of the store I picked up more Soba noodles (I still have 2 bundles from my #Foodiepenpals friend, Lauren, but after my delicious Shrimp/Spinach/Soba goodness, my whole family wants it for dinner soon) and grabbed a package of shirataki noodles to try, a large package of pre-shelled edamame, and a few little treats for Alex!

Definitely on the prowl for some new recipes, particularly any that include Kubocha! I can’t wait to get back home and get cooking!

Leave a Reply

