Veggie slump

Okay, people. I’m in a veggie slump. One of the staples of my healthier eating has been tons of fresh veggies, prepared by me at home where I can control the amount of salt, butter, etc. that goes on or in the food I prepare.

There are some staples that I love, and just can’t get enough of (like spinach, for instance) and plenty of others that I keep in the house regularly. The problem is, I feel like I’m running out of ways to prepare them to make it feel like I’m not eating the exact same thing day in and day out!

Veggies I keep in plenty:

Cabbage
Spinach
Mushrooms
Sweet Potatoes
Yellow Squash
Zucchini Squash
Asparagus
Brussel Sprouts
Broccoli
Cauliflower
Pole Beans

Pretty much the most creative cooking these get is going on the grill versus the microwave or stovetop. I need something new, fresh, exciting. New veggies to try, or new applications and flavor combinations for these veggies I already know and love!

I’m not opposed to trying new veggies, but the reason these have become my staples is because this is primarily what I can find easily at the local grocers and farmer’s markets.

I do have relatively easy access to an H-Mart (Asian superstore for those unfamiliar…) and their produce section feels as big as the entire grocery secttion at a Wal-Mart, but I don’t know what half of it is and it intimidates me!

What veggies do you eat, and what is your favorite way to prepare them? I would love some feedback from everyone!

Leave a Reply

