NSV…FTW!

For those of you who do not speak in internet acronym, today’s post will share a couple of NSVs (non-scale victories) that I have had this week (for the win!)

First, I want to mention my scale. I have not lost it forever, I have not thrown it out the window, and the number is not going back up in the wrong direction. That being said, you won’t see any scale posts here for a couple more weeks. When I started losing more and more noticeable amounts of weight, I fell into the trap I always do: slave to the scale. I refuse, absolutely REFUSE, to let that happen to me on this journey. This is about so much more than the number on the scale, that I know when I start hopping on it every single day, sometimes more than once…it’s time to lock it up for a few weeks.

So this week, I celebrate some NSVs!

1. Towels. I have pretty much used nothing but beach towels since high school, because it was the only kind big enough to wrap completely around me without paying $20-30 for a big fancy department store “bath sheet.” 1st of all, let me say: no towel should cost that much. I am not paying that amount of money to dry my butt off, unless it’s going to do all of the work for me. And 2nd, I refuse to use a towel referred to as a “sheet.” Doesn’t really help the fat complex.

Today, for the 1st time since probably 8th grade, I was able to use a regular old towel and with the exception of the very very widest part of my hips, it wrapped all the way around!

2. Sizes. So I’ve mentioned a couple of times that I’m almost down 3 full sizes- almost, but not quite there yet. Well, I can officially say: when I started my journey, I was starting to outgrown my 26Ws. You did not read wrong, that was a twenty-six. 2 – 6. I have never felt more horrible about myself than getting to that point. I had previously felt that way before when I realized my already gargantuan-feeling 24Ws were starting to get snug, but that thought of moving into a 28W was something I just couldn’t handle. That was the maximum size at a lot of stores that I shop at! No way was I going to have to purchase the biggest options.

I’ll admit, it was honestly more than just the number on the tag. I am an apple shape (which in case you’re not aware is pretty much the worst thing ever, AND the most difficult thing to shop for, ugh.) So having to buy clothes to fit my lovely “apple” (aka my size 26W+ waist/stomach) they are HUGE on my everywhere else. I’ve never had particularly large hips/thighs, and I have NO ass to speak of. So I pretty much look like I’m wearing a potato sack most of the time in jeans, capris, anything really that is designed to fit a size 26W.

Saturday Alex and I went to Discover Mill’s to check out their Sears outlet and Ross store to see if they had any good deals. I was able to squeeze myself (uncomfortably) into 2 pairs of capris, both size 20W. I almost talked myself out of buying them because they were tighter than I wanted, but since I could button and zip them all the way, and they were just uncomfortable, I still got them since the price was right and I knew they’d fit in a couple of weeks. Imagine my surprise when I threw them on Sunday and realized they fit perfectly. All I can think is that I must have been bloated while we were shopping because not only do both pairs still fit perfectly today, but they’re actually even the slightest bit roomy!

Just a little more hard work and a little more time, and I’ll be out of the 20’s forever! Have you had any NSVs this week? If you haven’t heard this term before, definitely work it into your vocabulary- when I finally stop staring at the scale and take a look at the things going on in my life, I start to see more and more of these little victories. I’m not going to lie- sometimes they feel even better than seeing the numbers on the scale!

Cheers!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mamacormier
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 19:18:06

    Congratulations on your NSV. I’m not quite there yet since I’ve only just started on my weight loss journey (again). I do weigh myself everyday but the difference this time is that I don’t let the lack of movement in the right or wrong direction bother me. I guess I am celebrating NSV because I feel better, look better and my clothes are more comfortable. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

    • ashlee2012
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 07:03:50

      Thank you! I definitely see the value in still looking at the scale, I just knew I was approaching that obsessive point! Congratulations on making the decision to get going on your journey again, please feel free to use me to vent or cheer you on or anything else you need along the way! I know firsthand that it can be difficult, and I know I wouldn’t be doing so well this time around without all of the support and encouragement! NSVs FTW!

      Reply

  2. Chrystal
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 09:46:32

    I love the idea of NSV’s! I had one this morning myself, when I put on size 16 pants (not even 16W, just regular 16)! When I started my weight-loss journey in January, I was wearing a 22W. I love the idea of shrinking out of my clothes, although I don’t have much to wear anymore, and not much money to buy a new wardrobe. I know – it’s a good problem to have, but it makes it hard to get ready for work in the morning!

    I just found your blog… will be following your journey as I work on my own.

    Reply

    • ashlee2012
      Apr 27, 2012 @ 09:48:55

      I can so relate! Now that I’m down to a 20W, NOTHING FITS! I have started wearing dresses and skirts because at least that way I’m not walking around with pants around my ankles LOL! Thanks for stopping by, I’ll be sure to keep track of your journey as well!

      Reply

      • Chrystal
        Apr 27, 2012 @ 09:55:40

        Yep – I wear skirts a lot more than I used to. Dresses not so much, because I have shrunk in the boob area too, and most of my dresses droop too much now!

  3. Gricelda Wimpy
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 03:27:45

    For me, cotton beach towels are the best since they absorb more sweat compared to synthetic fibers. They also have great texture and feel. `”`.:

    Have a great day!
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

