Hulking out

No, despite what you may think, this is not an inspirational post about how much muscle mass I’ve gained since I started on my journey. Not at all.

Let me start with a story. It always starts innocently enough. Alex and I go to bed together, we may cuddle a little, debrief from our day, watch some tv…whatever mood we’re in that particular evening. We always end with a kiss, and each of us tells the other that we love them. We set the sleep timer on the tv, set the alarm, close our eyes, and drift off to sleep.

Fast forward 6-8 hours.

My breathing is steady, my dreams are sweet, my life is peaceful.

And then, at 5:30 a.m EST, the unholiest of times, it starts. There is no slow, gradual start. One minute I am a Disney princess, deep within the confines of my gentle slumber. The next…

Beep. Beep. Beep. Beep. HULK SMASH.

It’s like a switch. I can’t control it. The alarm starts its’ morning wail, and I turn into Hulk. With the exception of the green complexion, you really wouldn’t know the difference. Try as I will to be kind, softspoken, and gentle in the morning, it always comes out as grumpy, impatient, and mean. I slam doors and drawers, I yell at everyone from Alex to the cat to the idiot that cuts us off on the way to work.

I’m pretty much like this until at least 9:30-10:00 a.m.

Over the years I have found that while my physical ability to wake up in the morning has improved (my mother had no choice but to be my alarm clock until college…I was trained to fully incorporate ALL alarm sounds into my dream, not just the radio…)my ability to take the morning in stride and enjoy waking up to another beautiful morning has not improved.

It does not seem to matter how much sleep I get, I simply do not react well in the morning. Work, weekend, 3 hours, 10 hours…nothing helps. Especially now that I’m working so hard to lead a healthier lifestyle, eat better, work out, and maintain an overall positive outlook on life, it is particularly troubling to me.

I feel that I’ve tried pretty much everything shy of going to a doctor, and I have to admit- I’d feel pretty silly going to a doctor about this.

So I’m reaching out to you, blogosphere inhabitants. Are you morning people? Do you turn into Hulk when your alarm goes off? What do I do to break this horrible habit, especially when I don’t even know if it is something within my controls?

I absolutely appreciate your inside, advice, and understanding of my killer Hulk smash.

Cheers to Hump day! Another week is almost over!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. columbibueno
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 20:47:57

    Totally not a morning person here. Wish I could help! I feel for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

