Out of the ashes…aka what I’ve been doing for the last 2 weeks

So when we last met I was fresh off of Day 2, Level 1 of the 30 day shred. And then my brother came home from college with some scary, scary experiences. Since then you’ll be happy to know that I have stuck with my healthy eating plan pretty well throughout all of the drama, the fear, the unknown. However, sticking to my February workout intentions were a completely different story.

I am okay with this, though. I know that to be successful this time around, I cannot let myself fall prey to excuses, but, I also think that given the circumstances, and the time that was being spent with my family (basically 24/7 save work,) I think the fact that I did still adhere to my food and water plan just shows how much these things are becoming habits, not just spur of the moment decisions.

Loss has been slow these past couple of weeks, only a couple of pounds, but I have prevented a gain, even without exercise. I want to take a few moments to thank my friends here, and on MyFitnessPal for checking in on me, and making sure that I am okay, and I apologize for falling off the face of the blog-o-sphere, but sometimes there are things at home to take care of, and those things have to come first.

I will share with you some things that I HAVE accomplished in the two weeks I’ve been away (and don’t judge me on some of these things, I do recognize it’s mid February…)

1. ALL Christmas decor is down, and organized in totes! (This is a feat as we had our entire basement covered from floor to ceiling…literally. Table rolls covering the wall, 1500+ snowflakes hung from strings, 3 Christmas trees in all…)

2. ALL of the laundry is done (thanks to a trip to the laundromat this weekend) and I completed spring cleaning in our master bedroom AND guest room. The master bedroom is one craft project, 1 can of spray paint, and two refinished dressers away from total completion, and the guest bedroom is a coat of paint and some framed pictures away from completion!

3. We moved our livingroom successfully from space A to space B (we have two livingrooms in our home and until recently had a roommate occupying the front one). The new livingroom still needs wall decor, another chair or loveseat, new curtains, and something to liven up the space a bit. The old living room needs something…not sure what yet. We’ve decided to keep it a “sitting room” instead of having yet another TV we never turn on and another cable box we pay for but do not use in there, so we definitely need some furniture. Probably at least one more chair, and I really need a couple large pieces of artwork or craft project to cover these super-barren walls. But the mantle has all of it’s non-seasonal decor placed back up, and that room, too, has had it’s spring cleaning!

4. I have begun work on…MY OFFICE! The second guest room, previously occupied by the roommate, is now going to be my very own office space! So far plans for the space include this really amazing chair I fell in love with at IKEA, these curtains that I liked at Walmart, and the conceptual idea of an office space/reading nook to call my very own!

Some other things to note during my absense: my oven broke, my brother and one of his roommates, and his girlfriend all moved back in with my parents in light of the events that happened in Atlanta, I finally got my car registered, and there may be some exciting news on the horizon, but not just yet.

Thank you all again for sticking with me, and I promise I’ll let you know I’m okay next time I forsee such a lengthy absence!

Cheers!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 365 days of marriage
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 09:02:22

    Yay! Glad you’re back and ok!

    Don’t feel bad about the Christmas decorations. One year, my mom still had the tree out in May. She almost kept it up all year. 🙂

    Reply

    • ashlee2012
      Feb 21, 2012 @ 23:08:20

      This definitely makes me feel better about life! It would not have been SO bad, except we just put so much up this year for the Christmas Spectacular! All is well that ends well, though, and at least things are down, thoroughly organized, and put away neatly!

      Reply

  2. 40 Fit In The Mitt
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 21:40:54

    Glad your back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

