Reality check

I know I’ve made mention of the kind of crap that I used to ingest on a daily basis. I know it is unhealthy for me, and I have still not indulged in anything like that, but I had a pretty scary reality check last night that I just couldn’t keep to myself.

We were visiting with my parents, and my mom made mention of McDonald’s having their southern style biscuits on sale 2/$1.50. She had me plug it in to see the calories. That got us started plugging in all sorts of different fast food meals, and seeing where they stacked up.

When looked at individually, most things measured up more or less as expected, but it still didn’t really sink in. I decided to look not at individual components alone, but really take a hard look at the bigger picture of the things that I was putting in my body. It was easy for me to say “oh, a chicken quesadilla from Taco Bell only has X calories” but when I actually looked at all of the components of my typical meals, it was really kind of shocking.

Based on my height, starting weight, overall weight loss goal, and the rate at which MFP says I can reasonably and healthily lose the weight, my daily caloric intake since January 1st has come in at 1,490 calories daily.

Last night, I plugged in my favorite fast food indulgence: Taco Bell #7. For me to convince Alex to go through a Taco Bell drive through at all is nothing short of a miracle, so on the rare occasion I could get him to do it, I definitely went whole hog (no pun intended.) My typical meal would be the #7 combo: a chicken quesadilla, soft taco supreme, and large Baja Blast Mountain Dew. I never forgot to add my cheesy fiesta potatoes.

Just 34 days into my journey, I have successfully limited my daily caloric intake to 1,490. 1,490. The exact same amount of calories in the one meal that I used to consume.

Scary, isn’t it? What have you put in your body today?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dena @ 40 Fit in the Mitt
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 22:25:27

    I can only imagine how many calories are in a typical fast food meal, it’s got to be scary. Even the calories in an average restaurant meal is probably twice to three times more than we actually need. I like to prepare my own meals!

    Reply

  2. 365 days of marriage
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 19:39:42

    Hey! Everything ok??? I keep waiting for an email update! I miss reading your posts!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

