Progress and the next great adventure

My journey is officially a month underway, and I have made such incredible strides in the past 31 days I can hardly believe it. It’s so hard to categorize the changes that I’ve made, or even just list them out. Instead, I’ll just talk about them.

Before I started this journey, fast food was a staple. I pretty much ate it 4-5 days a week, for at least one meal, sometimes more. While I typically opted for slightly healthier choices (baked potato, chili, grilled chicken, salads occasionally) there were plenty of times that I didn’t. And even the healthier options are simply lower in calories, not necessarily lower in sodium and other icky things. When we would go to sit-down restaurants, an appetizer was essential. Every. Single. Time. I’d drink 4-5 glasses of sweet tea or coke, an unhealthy or badly proportioned meal, and if some food did manage to make it home in a to-go box, it didn’t last the night.

My evenings consisted of nothing more than sitting on the couch, at the computer, watching tv. Facebook, LinkedIn, blogs and games. Staying up way past my body’s “bedtime” for no good reason. I was lazy, lethargic. I didn’t often even enjoy hanging out with friends, because I just wanted to sit and do nothing.

Mornings were the worst part of my day. Getting out of bed required a symphony of snoozes, and I pretty much felt asleep until mid-morning. I never ate breakfast, I yawned constantly, and struggled to get through the day.

And then: I got tired of it. I got tired of abusing my body, ignoring my mind, sitting through life. I decided it was time to take it back. I decided I had wasted so many years already, it was time to stop waiting for an overnight fix, and do things right. Change habits, alter my lifestyle, and move on with permanent, healthy habits. I formulated a plan, found some great tools for tracking progress and getting support, and got started. 

My goals for January were to start incorporating healthy foods and eating habits, increase my water intake, and start working on my lifestyle. 31 days later I have not eaten fast food. 31 days later we have gone out to dinner 3-4 times, and have not ordered an appetizer. My meal has fallen in the under 550 calorie category, and my nutritional intake each day has remained within a healthy range of each target. We are in a solid routine of dinner right after work, prepping the next day’s lunch, and getting to bed earlier.

I don’t drink with meals anymore, but do consume 6-8 glasses of water per day. I have completely stopped drinking all soft drinks, including diet drinks except on very rare occasion. My breakfasts, lunches and dinners are full of vegetables, lean meats, and succulent flavors.

I’m not just sitting. I’m doing the things that I love. I’m cooking, I’m crafting, I’m spending time with my friends and family. I’m teaching them about the healthy choices I’m making, and they’re starting to make some, too. Alex is trying new foods, including lots of veggies! (Sidenote: when I first started dating Alex in 2008, he ate one “vegetable:” Potatoes. He now eats (with little regularity) corn, potatoes, green beans, spinach, asparagus, cauliflower and sweet potatoes.)

The best part about all of these changes and successes, is that so far- it has not been torture. If I’ve wanted to indulge, I have indulged. But I have slowly started to learn the idea of moderation. I have learned to pace myself, and treat all decisions thoughtfully and completely rather than spontaneously and compulsively. I have started slowly, and I have slowly started succeeding.

Today is the end of month one. I have come a very long way in a very short time. It is an excellent start, but it is not enough. Tomorrow is day 1 of Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred. I have taken my pre-exercise measurements, and logged them. Neck, arms, bust, waist, thighs, and hips. Wrote down each painful number and recorded it forever in a safe place. As hard as it was to see those measurements, I am so excited to see the end result.

When I started this journey, I was at an all time high as far as my weight. I want so badly to share that number with you, but I just can’t. Not yet. But what I can tell you is that after one month of moving a little more, eating a lot better, and holding myself accountable for every nutritional decision I made, I am starting the 30 Day Shred 12 pounds lighter than when I started. 12.

Thanks for sticking around with me over the past month. Having the support and encouragement of all of my new friends, from all over the globe, has really helped to motivate me to continue, even on the most difficult of days. Hell, I almost lost a pound for each of you! So thank you, thank you, thank you! I sincerely hope you’ll all be around for the next milestone, too!

Cheers!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mrmarkls
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 21:04:43

    Great post! Fantastic progress. Much to be proud of! I can very much relate. Thanks for a really good look at what you are working your way through.

    Reply

  2. 365 days of marriage
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 23:25:26

    This post made me seriously tear up!

    Way to go girl!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

