Rosemary Sweet Potato Wedges

Dinner was a new adventure for me tonight! When we went couponing last week, I scored Boca Burgers BOGO at Publix, with a $1.00/2 coupon. I ended up paying something like $3.00 for 2 boxes of Boca Burgers. Great savings, but a risky move considering I’ve never tried a Boca Burger, and the only kind they even sell that I have ever had was black bean burger (which they were sold out of.)

I knew I wanted to try one of the burgers tonight, and I am such a sucker for french fries with a burger that I had to figure out something quick, tasty, and nutritious to fill the void. (For the record, I’m not boycotting regular potatoes completely, but I am significantly decreasing the amount I eat them.) I remembered a recipe my friend Tara used for a party a few months ago for Rosemary Sweet Potato Wedges, and I decided that was a perfect compromise!

This recipe is super simple, delicious, and nutritious! It would be delicious paired with just about anything, or by itself! I only made a single serving, using one half of a very large sweet potato and I still had some wedges left over. Since the calorie information will not be accurate, I’m not going to include it here.

Rosemary Sweet Potato Wedges

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

Par-cook sweet potatoes until slightly soft. I did this in the microwave because I have a genius microwave that has a potato cooking sensor. You can do it however you like, just watch them so they don’t get too soft, you still have to cut them.

While sweet potatoes are par-cooking, mix your “marinade” in a separate bowl. Add 2 tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil, 2 tablespoons rosemary, 2 teaspoons of garlic, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper.When mixed it should be almost pasty, but you can omit some of the rosemary for a milder taste.

When sweet potatoes are just tender enough to slice through easily, cut potatoes into medium-sized wedges. I used one half of a sweet potato and got enough wedges for two servings of about 6 wedges.

Using a basting brush or spoon, drizzle/baste sweet potatoes on all sides with the oil mixture. Place on middle rack of oven for 10 minutes, turn potatoes, and finish for another 10 minutes. I don’t like mine super crispy, so you may want to increase the cooking time by a few minutes if you do.

I paired my “flame broiled” Boca Burger with the delicious sweet potato wedges and about a cup and a half of steamed broccoli. It was a delicious meal that came together pretty quickly all said and done. And Boca Burgers? I give them an A+. I honestly thought they tasted just like a concession stand cheeseburger from my high school football stadium. I’m not sure if that should make me as happy as it does, but I’ll definitely add these to the list of foods that can help me out on nights I don’t have as much time to spend in the kitchen!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melinda
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 23:39:28

    Yummy! I will have to try this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

