Shoes and pizza

Today I had a bit of a cheat day. Everyone has been bugging me about cheating since I started this, trying to tempt me out of my regimen. I agree with the logic behind it. At the very heart of the argument, it’s the same basic principle that I have based my journey around: don’t force myself into this, do it slowly, make it last.

Until today, though, I honestly haven’t felt the desire to “cheat.” I honestly love all of the delicious, healthy meals I’ve been throwing together, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed getting back in the kitchen. I’ve been quite fulfilled with my healthy snacks, my glasses of water. The urge for sweets and yucky foods just hasn’t been there.

This week has been mounting stress-wise, and I guess the desire to just indulge really started yesterday. I went over my calorie suggestion quite on accident, and not because I was eating bad food, but because I was just eating more than I needed to. This is definitely something that I’ve dealt with since I was younger, eating my feelings, digesting my stress. But I didn’t want to fall back into that after doing so well.

I went into today with renewed vigor. A determination not to count calories and stress over every cinnamon roasted almond I put into my mouth, but to employ the smart decisions and listen to my body, while indulging how I know my mind needed me to. I drank my 8 glasses of water, enjoyed my banana for a snack, my oatmeal for breakfast, and I ate exactly what I wanted and craved for the rest of the day. I enjoyed a silky, fiery spicy tuna roll for lunch, but I still opted to pair it with a lush salad, dressing on the side. I had my half serving of almonds to get me through the afternoon. And for dinner? For dinner, I had a chef salad with Esperanza dressing and a large, mouth-watering slice of Mellow Mushroom pepperoni pizza. I enjoyed every bite, I didn’t over-indulge, or eat until I had a food baby. 

I’m learning. I’m listening to my body. And I’m still able to enjoy food.

Don’t tell those demons inside…

But I’m also learning not to feel guilty about that.

Am I proud that I felt the need to “cheat” on my new-found healthy eating habits? Of course not. But I’m proud that I am slowly loosening the shackles that food had over me, and can finally enjoy food in moderate, mindful ways. I’m proud that I feel in control of the things I put in my body, and not depending on the sugar rush, the carb high, the sodium attack. Even when my choices aren’t the picture of health, I’m making choices and not caving in to weakness and emotion.

And back to that stressful week…

I chose more than just a greasy dinner. This week was beyond junk food. And every girl knows, the best cure to a crappy week is a new pair of shoes. Especially shoes 80% off at DSW. They’re not exactly the picture of trendy fashionista footwear, but they are exactly what I needed! (Fluffy Steve Madden slip ons with fur lining for the cold floors both at work and home, for those of you who were curious!) Yes, I paid $8.55 for them. Be jealous.

Moral of the story? Tomorrow is a new day, and a new chance to keep working on the new habits in my life. And sometimes, a girl just needs to splurge on some pizza and shoes.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shannonjoe
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 01:33:49

    I, too, fell of the food wagon a little this weekend while I was at a conference. BUT-I have lost 10 pounds in 3 weeks!!! YEA!!! We CAN do this!

    Shannon
    http://www.everystepcounts365.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • ashlee2012
      Jan 24, 2012 @ 13:29:22

      Thanks so much! I have not yet weighed myself, I made a vow that I wouldn’t slave over the scale and I’m determined not to weigh myself until the last day in January. I weighed at the start, took a month to control my eating habits and make some really GOOD habits, and February 1st I start full force with workouts and all. Once I start that I’ll have a weekly weigh in, can’t wait to see how far I’ve come in just this month!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Another dose of inspiration « firstdayoftherestofdays

Leave a Reply

