You win some, you lose some

So, one thing I’ve learned throughout this process is that everything doesn’t always go right all of the time. The trick is, figuring out how to overcome it, with minimal backpedaling or damage caused.

For two weeks now we have cooked healthy, wholesome, delicious meals day in and day out. It was bound to happen that we have an epic kitchen fail at some point. Monday night was “skip it” night in our house. That’s what we call it when our tastes are too far apart, or we’re just too lazy to plan a cohesive meal. In the past this would have consisted of Totino’s pizzas (anybody else noticing a trend? I love you, Totino’s.) Chef Boyardee. Ramen noodles. The feasts of carb kings. The sultans of sodium. Too much? Maybe…

So last night was my first super lazy skip it night since I’ve started eating healthy. Past nights have included lots of sauteed veggies, super flavorful dishes, and a satisfied belly. Last night was disaster with a capital D. I started by trying one of those Starkist tuna salad pouches. It was on sale at Ingles, and I had a coupon. Made it worth trying. Let me say this: I am a major lover of Tuna. I eat it in sandwiches, wraps, casseroles, salads, straight from the can, on crackers, with creamy cheese melted on top, you get the point. I took one bite of this tuna salad (which sounded delicious- water chestnuts, celery…) and immediately dug the packet out of the garbage to check the date. It was well in date (didn’t expire until 2014…) but it just tasted sour.

Frustrated, but not completely broken, I moved on instead to one of the Healthy Choice soups I bought this weekend (also a great coupon deal!), New England Clam Chowder. Clam Chowder for me is like Brunswick Stew- if I’m at a restaurant and they serve it, I have to try it. If I see a new kind at the store, I have to have it. The first soup I made when I started cooking: New England Clam Chowder. I like it more than tuna, if that is even possible. This soup was not what I was dreaming of. Sweet, watery, and even chewy in parts, I choked down a good 3 bites and went back to square one.

I eventually settled on leftover spaghetti squash, but it was definitely disheartening! I went into tonight with renewed vigor, determined to make delicious, wholesome vittles. Yet again I was foiled. I looked up instructions for how to roast broccoli and brussel sprouts, and followed them to a T. When it came time to take them out of the oven, they were charred. Thanksfully sprouts have layers, and I was able to salvage those, but the little green balls that top the broccoli stalks were ash. One bite was enough to make me want to gag.

2 bad nights in a row, but I’m hoping that the bad luck ends in 3, since it was technically 3 separate food attempts. Here’s hoping that tomorrow brings better results in my kitchen, and continued determination to power through the little set backs.

Leave a Reply

