Vegetable Quesadillas

One of the biggest alterations I am making to my diet is way more veggies. I LOVE vegetables, and they’re not something that I struggle to eat. The excuse has always been that Alex doesn’t eat vegetables, and they go to waste because of it. The reality is that I have graciously ignored my veggies in favor of less healthy and more convenient options. Like a Totino’s pizza. (For the record, I still love you, Totino’s.)

This week when we went grocery shopping, Publix had their fresh produce on sale for $0.99 per pound. Rather than stock up on limp, lifeless frozen or salty canned vegetables, I spent $3.00 and got a pound of zucchini squash, a pound of yellow squash, and a pound of pole beans. I also grabbed a bag of Fresh Express raw spinach, and pint of baby portabello mushrooms. Each day rather than skimp out on a quick, convenient dinner option, I’ve made it a point to incorporate a hefty portion of vegetables with my dinner.

One of the first recipes I’ve thrown together to incorporate lots of veg into my diet, are veggie quesadillas. I happened to have the non-veg ingredients laying around from a chicken quesadilla adventure last week, and I just subbed the poultry for lots of delicious vegetables!

Since Alex wouldn’t touch the veggies with a ten foot pole, I used half a zucchini, 1 whole yellow squash, about a cup of portabello mushrooms and roughly 3 cups of raw spinach. I chopped up all of the veggies into uniform chunks, and sauteed the zucchini and squash first with a little EVOO and a sprinkle of salt and pepper. In a separate pan I got my mushrooms working with a pad of butter (nothing helps mushrooms cook down like a little butter) and added my spinach in to wilt once they finished. I sprinkled a couple pinches of Weber’s  Kickin’ Chickin’ seasoning (great on chicken, PHENOMENAL on veggies!) and when all of the vegetables were done cooking, I combined them and added them to a giant flour tortilla, added about 1/4 cup of cheese (a mix of Ole Queso Fresca and Sargento Reduced Sodium Mild Cheddar), and baked in the oven for 10 minutes, flipping them over halfway through.

My recipe yielded two gigantic quesadillas, and one was more than enough! This is not a scientific fact, but according the MyFitnessPal, the nutrition facts are about 450 calories, 40 grams of carbs, 12 grams of carbs, and 10 grams of protein per quesadilla. I wish they told me how much fiber is in it, but I’ll take what I can get. It was filling, nutritious, absolutely DELICIOUS and for the first time in a long time, I actually felt satisfied with food still left on my plate!

Not my veggie quesadillas, but a similar recipe from Pioneer Woman
Leave a Reply

